Top 5 Highest and Leading Wicket Takers Bowlers in IPL History

Updated 2020: Best and Top 5 Highest and Leading Wicket Takers in IPL History

The competition between the bat and bowl in the T20 shortest format of the game is quite intense. Sometimes bowlers get hit over the park while sometimes giving hitters a nightmare. In the Indian Premier League (IPL), there has been a full package of legendary bowlers and local talents who have set records over the years. Indian Premier League IPL is full of talented bowlers such as Lasith Malinga who is currently the highest and leading wicket-takers in IPL history.

Here is the Updated 2020 List of the best and top 5 highest and leading wicket-takers in IPL history so Let’s take a look at the top 5 wicket-takers in IPL:

1. Lasith Malinga (170 Wickets)

The Sri Lankan fast and the legendary bowler is arguably the best in T20 cricket history and proved it time and time again in the Indian Premier League (IPL). With 170 wickets in just 122 matches, Lasith Malinga is standing tall with most leading wicket-takers in IPL history. He has also taken a five-wicket and four-way four-wicket sing scan in this tournament. Over the years, he has played an important role for the Mumbai Indians and also helped his team win the 2019 IPL in the final against Chennai Super Kings.

2. Amit Mishra (157 Wickets)

Amit Mishra might be away from the national team, but he has been a very effective bowler in the Indian Premier League (IPL). A leg spinner is always useful in the shortest format of the game and, like any other, Mishra has annoyed batsmen over the years with his leg turn. It has collected 157 wickets in 147 matches and is the second-highest in IPL history. Mishra, who played for Delhi Capitals last season, has 1 five-wicket and 3 four-wicket throws on his behalf and remains a valuable player to consider in the next edition.

Harbhajan Singh (150 Wickets)

The right-arm spinner, which he handed over the years to the Mumbai Indians, now plays for the Chennai Super Kings. But he’s been on the same touch with the ball as previous editions. Harbhajan Singh is the third-best wicket player in IPL history with 150 wickets in 160 matches. It also has the lowest economic rate in IPL history at just 7.05. The experienced off-spinner has already turned 39 and we could see him for the last time bothering the hitters in the next edition of the IPL.

Piyush Chawla (150 Wickets)

Piyush Chawla, who is one of the finest spinners in IPL history, matches Harbhajan Singh, as he has also taken 150 wickets in IPL and is the fourth-best wicket-taker in IPL history. The Kolkata Knight Riders player has been a loyal player for the side and has won many games for them with his magical leg turn. Piyush has taken 2 four-wicket and has an economy rate of just 7.82 after playing 157 games. However, he could be seen in a new team the next edition, as Kolkata Knight Riders did not retain him for the next edition of the tournament.

Dwayne Bravo (147 Wickets)

If there is a bowler who has been massively clinical with the bowl in the shortest format, then he is none other than Dwayne Bravo of the West Indies. With his line and length disciplined and the slower balls, he has annoyed the hitters over the years and won games for his Chennai Super Kings. In the finals of the game, Bravo has always been MS Dhoni’s bowler and, for a reason, CSK retained the most versatile player in 2018 and later in 2019, as well as for the next edition of the tournament. Bravo is the fifth-highest in IPL history with 147 wickets in 134 games and has an economy of 8.39.

Read More: Top 5 Batsmen scoring most boundaries (Fours) in IPL history