T20 World Cup Winners and Runners-Up of All Time

T20 World Cup Winners and Runners-Up of All Time

List of T20 World Cup Winners and Runners-Up of All Time

The T20 cricket format quickly gained popularity due to many entertainments offered in the action-filled with 40 new games. The most famous tournament of this format is the T20 World Cup, organized every two years by ICC. a total of six T20 World Cups have been played with which West Indies have won two T20 World Cups. For the rest of the T20 World Cup winners and runners of all time, we have mentioned all the information you need to know.

The previous tournament was known as ICC T20 World 2018, which was renamed in November 2018 by cricket’s giant management board, ICC. With the T20 World Cup 2022, to be held in Australia, we look back at the teams that won this prestigious competition.


T20 World Cup Winners & Runners Up List


Year Host Winner Runner-up T20 World Cup Winners
2007 South Africa India Pakistan India won by five runs
2009 England Pakistan Sri Lanka Pakistan won by eight wickets
2010 West Indies England Australia England won by seven wickets
2012 Sri Lanka West Indies Sri Lanka West Indies won by 36 runs
2014 Bangladesh Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka won by six wickets
2016 India West Indies England West Indies won by four wickets
2021 Oman UAE England New Zealand England Won by Super Over



1) India won the ICC T20 World Cup in 2007

India won the first ICC T20 World Cup in a taut match against Pakistan. The first edition of the world2020 took place in South Africa. All the teams faced each other before India beat Pakistan with only 5 points in the final to win the cup. Shahid Afridi of Pakistan, however, found himself on the losing side and was named man of the tournament in this edition.


2) Pakistan won the ICC T20 World Cup in 2009

Pakistan, who lost the T20 World Cup final in 2007, qualified for the 2009 season finale and easily won the Cup by beating Sri Lanka by 8 yards and nine balls. Tilakaratne Dilshan, who reached new records during the tournament by inventing new scoring methods, was the man of the series in 2009. England hosted the second edition of ICC world2020.


3) England won the ICC T20 World Cup in 2010

The third edition of ICC World T20 was performed in 2010 in the West Indies. England won the first ICC tournament by convincingly beating Australia with seven wickets and three more players in the final match. It was the first ICC Cup for England after a long wait. Kevin Petersen played an essential role in England’s qualification by giving him the title. He was named man of the series in this edition for his contributions.


4) West Indies won the ICC T20 World Cup in 2012

The West Indies, known for their taste for cricket, were almost tailor-made for this format with hard hitters and smart bowlers when the team won the T20 World Cup for the first time in 2012, hosted by Sri Lanka. The West Indies scored only 137 points, or 36 points in Colombo, and made history by winning the Cup. Although Australia failed to qualify for the final, Shane Watson was named man of the series in 2012 with his consistent performance.


5) Sri Lanka won the ICC T20 World Cup in 2014

The 2014 season took place in Bangladesh, and two teams from the subcontinent faced off in the final. India, who had previously won the Cup in 2007, was playing against Sri Lanka, who were competing for the third time in the T20 World Cup final.

An energetic Sri Lankan team beat the Indian team and beat it overall by six wickets and more than two goals to spare. However, Virat Kohli, who scored 319 points throughout the tournament, took the tournament title but missed his second World Cup trophy.


6) West Indies won the ICC T20 World Cup in 2016.

The West Indies became the first team to win two ICC World Twenty20 trophies after beating England in the final to win the 2016 trophy. Carlos Brathwaite unleashed the last night with his four huge six in the previous tournament to confirm the victory of the West Indies.


7) England won the ICC T20 World Cup in 2021

England and New Zealand played the final of the ICC Men’s T20 WC 2021. For the first time, the final of the tournament ended up in a tie. Both teams put all their efforts to win the trophy for their country. The Super Over was held to decide the winner while surprisingly the super over also ended up in a tie and England won on the most number of boundaries scored.