Most Runs as Captain in IPL History [year]

Most Runs as Captain in IPL History

Most Runs as Captain in IPL History [year]

The Indian Premier League has produced some of the most aggressive captains in the history of Indian cricket. There have been 58 different players who have captained an IPL side thus far. Most of them have great batting skills.

RCB skipper Virat Kohli set the record for most runs scored by a captain in IPL history. MS Dhoni is right behind Virat Kohli. In this article, we take a look at batters with the most runs as captains in IPL history [year].


Captains Matches Runs H/S Avg. S/R 100 50 4s 6s
Virat Kohli 140 4881 113 42.07 133.32 5 35 413 167
MS Dhoni 210 4556 84* 40.31 136.69 0 22 317 208
Rohit Sharma 143 3674 98* 28.92 129.18 0 23 338 143
Gautam Gambhir 129 3518 93 31.13 122.79 0 31 406 49
David Warner 69 2840 126 47.33 142.28 1 26 286 99
KL Rahul 42 1912 132* 56.23 134.26 3 15 151 83
Adam Gilchrist 74 1900 106 26.76 136.59 1 11 224 79
Sachin Tendulkar 51 1723 100* 40.06 120.15 1 10 218 20
Shreyas Iyer 55 1643 93* 32.86 125.9 0 11 138 56
Virender Sehwag 53 1524 119 31.1 167.65 1 11 178 65


  1. Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli has only captained the Royal Challengers Bangalore from the beginning of his IPL tenure. There was no IPL championship for RCB when he was leading the team.

Virat Kohli’s 4881 runs in 140 IPL games as a captain are the highest ever. He has helped RCB to 64 victories while averaging a remarkable 58 runs per game.

Kohli has scored five hundred while leading his team in the IPL. In IPL 2016, he has scored more than anyone else in a single IPL season scoring 973 runs.


  1. MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni has more innings as captain than any other player in IPL history. For 204 Indian Premier League matches, he led the teams Chennai Super Kings and Rising Pune Super Giants.

In his role as captain, he has amassed 4570 runs. In total, he racked up 4172 runs for CSK and 284 runs for the Rising Pune Super Giants.

He set a record by not being dismissed in 69 innings as captain in the Indian Premier League. This demonstrates that he is among the best finishers in IPL.


  1. Gautam Gambhir

In the Indian Premier League, Gautam Gambhir has led two different clubs as captain. He led KKR for 108 games and DD for 21.

He captained the team while scoring 3518 runs. He amassed 3025 runs for KKR and 483 runs for DD. The most fifty-plus scores by a skipper in a winning cause belongs to Gautam Gambhir. With 23 fifty-plus scores, he was the winning captain for his team.

As captain, his worst stat is scoring the most ducks. He holds the record for most ducks by a skipper in IPL history with ten.


  1. Rohit Sharma

Over the course of 131* Indian Premier League matches, Rohit Sharma has captained the Mumbai Indians. He has won the most championships of any IPL captain with five. He averaged 30 points out of a possible 3520.

Rohit Sharma achieved this feat in the final match of the IPL and is the only skipper to do so. Rohit Sharma has played in five IPL Finals, making him the second IPL captain after MS Dhoni to do so.


  1. David Warner

David Warner is the foreign captain with the most runs scored in the IPL. He captained the Indian Premier League’s Delhi Daredevils and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

He captained 69* games and scored 2840 runs. He averaged 48 while scoring 2792 runs for SRH, but he could only manage 48 runs in two games for DD.

He is second only to KL Rahul in batting average among captains (47). As captain of SRH, he amassed an excellent batting average of 63 in victories.


  1. Adam Gilchrist

In the Indian Premier League, Adam Gilchrist led both the Deccan Charges and the Kings XI Punjab. He has scored 1900 runs as a Wicket-Keeper in the IPL, making him the second-highest run-scorer behind MS Dhoni.

He has led his team to a combined total of 1900 runs while captaining the Punjab Kings (849) and the Deccan Charges (1051). Adam Gilchrist is the only regular Wicket-Keeper skipper to score a century in the IPL, joining the ranks of KL Rahul and Sanju Samson.


  1. Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar led the Mumbai Indians as their first captain from 2008 until 2011. As captain, Sachin’s batting average was 40. Later, Virat Kohli and other batters surpassed that total.

While leading the Mumbai Indians, Sachin amassed 1723 runs. Sachin captained winning teams while scoring 1080 runs at an average of 46.


  1. Virender Sehwag

Virender Sehwag was the captain of both the Delhi Daredevil and Kings XI Punjab teams. He leads all IPL captains with at least 50 matches at the helm in terms of batting strike rate (167).

He has led his team to 1524 runs scored while averaging 31 at the plate. His score of 119 is the third highest among captains, behind only that of KL Rahul and David Warner. Seventy-three percent of his runs as captain resulted in victories for his club.


  1. KL Rahul

KL Rahul has led Kings XI Punjab, Lucknow SuperGiants, and Punjab Kings. He has only led the team for 30* innings, but he has already excelled. He leads all IPL captains with a batting average of 56.

He has 1404 runs as captain. He had a phenomenal batting average of 58 while scoring 1296 runs for the Punjab Kings. In addition, his score of 132* off of 69 balls as captain is the best ever. He achieved this feat while playing for RCB in IPL 2020.


  1. Shreyas Iyer

While playing in the Indian Premier League, Shreyas Iyer led three different teams: the Delhi Daredevils, the Delhi Capitals, and the Kolkata Knight Riders. About 59% of his total runs came in game-winning situations. He led his team to victory with 1311 runs in 45* IPL matches as a batter.



Also Read: Smartcric Live Streaming

Scroll to Top