Slowest Centuries in IPL History [year]

Slowest Centuries in IPL History

Slowest Centuries in IPL History [year]

IPL is usually known for its batting strength and in each season, they produce a number of good batters. As T20 is the fastest edition of cricket yet we have seen many batsmen struggling to make a score.

Sometimes occasionally batters play really slow and need a lot of balls to achieve a century in IPL due to bad batting conditions or under pressure.  Batters occasionally lose their wicket even when scoring the fewest possible runs. But, occasionally they keep batting and end up with a hundred or fifty runs.

In this article, we take a look at the slowest IPL centuries in [year]. The list contains great names such as Jos Buttler, David Warner, and Sachin Tendulkar who scored a hundred in the greatest number of balls.


Batters Runs Balls S/R 4s 6s Season
Manish Pandey 100 67 149 10 3 2009
David Warner 100 66 151 9 6 2010
Sachin Tendulkar 100 66 151 3 12 2011
Jos Buttler 100 66 151 11 5 2022
Kevin Pietersen 100 64 156 6 6 2012
KL Rahul 100 63 163 12 4 2022
Virat Kohli 100 63 158 11 1 2016
KL Rahul 100 63 158 6 6 2019
Ambati Rayudu 100 62 162 7 7 2018
L Simmons 100 61 163 14 2 2014
Ben Stokes 100 61 163 7 6 2017



  1. Manish Pandey – 67 Balls

Manish Pandey is the first Indian player to score a century in IPL and is also the slowest century in IPL history in the first edition of IPL 2009. During an IPL match against the Deccan Chargers, he scored a century.

He scored 100 runs off of 67 balls at a strike rate of 149. In his brilliant innings, in which his side scored 170 runs, he struck 10 fours and three sixes. In their rebuttal, Deccan Chargers fell to RCB by a score of 12 runs.


  1. Jos Buttler – 66 Balls

Jos Buttler’s hundred in IPL 2022 was the slowest ever. Jos Buttler scored 100 on 66 balls; His magnificent century helped the Rajasthan Royals beat the Mumbai Indians.

Nevertheless, Mumbai Indians’ reply fell short of the goal in the allotted 20 overs. Jos Buttler’s outstanding effort earned him the title of “player of the match.”


  1. Sachin Tendulkar – 66 Balls

Sachin Tendulkar has amassed an impressive number of international hundreds. He also has the most career century total in the IPL. Sachin Tendulkar made a century for Mumbai Indians off of 66 balls at a strike rate of 151.

Sachin’s century propelled MI to a total of 182, but it wasn’t enough to win the game. The opposition club, Kochi Tuskers Kerala, batted superbly in their pursuit of the target on the board.


  1. David Warner – 66 Balls

David Warner is known as a swift run-scorer, yet he holds the record for the slowest hundred in IPL. He hit 66 balls for 100 runs, a strike rate of 151. David Warner smashed nine fours and six sixes in his innings. His victory earned him the distinction of “match MVP.”


  1. Kevin Pietersen – 64 Balls

Back in 2012 Indian Premier League Kevin Pietersen’s scored the slowest century. Kevin Pietersen batted at a strike rate of 156, scoring 100 runs on 64 balls. He scored a hundred runs (6 sixes, 6 fours) in this match and won the match of the match award as well.


  1. KL Rahul – 63 Balls

KL Rahul has shown his skills in a previous couple of IPL seasons. KL Rahul is a legendary IPL batsman but is currently struggling to make some runs. KL Rahul scored the slowest century in IPL in a 2009 match between Kings XI Punjab and Mumbai Indians.

With a strike rate of 158, he scored 100 runs off just 63 balls. He scored six sixes and six fours in this brilliant hundred. After his outstanding batting performance, KL Rahul was named the player of the match.


  1. Virat Kohli – 63 Balls

We have seen Virat Kohli’s name in almost every records list. Virat Kohli had a fantastic IPL 2016 season, amassing numerous hundred and fifty runs. Virat Kohli scored his slowest century in IPL against Gujrat Lions, when he scored 100 runs off of 63 balls.

He struck 11 sixes and 01 four with a reported strike rate of 158. He was recognized as a man of the match for his great effort with the bat. Despite Kohli’s best batting efforts, RCB was unable to secure victory.



Also Read: Most Fan-Following Team in IPL

Scroll to Top