Virat Kohli to continue as Captain of RCB says, coach Mike Hesson

Virat Kohli to continue as Captain of RCB says, coach Mike Hesson

Indian Skipper Virat Kohli record as captain of the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) may be below average, but the team’s newly appointed Cricket Director, Mike Hesson, dismissed any change in the leadership of the low-performing franchise in the next edition of the Indian Premier League.

Despite stars such as Kohli, AB de Villiers and Chris Gayle (for the most part), RCB has not won the IPL since the event began. Captain Virat Kohli led the RCB in seven of those seasons. Hesson asked questions about Kohli to control the team and change root captaincy.

Mike Hesson said, We don’t have that perception that Virat controls things. However, he may have had his past learnings (mistakes) as he moved forward.

Hesson on Kohli

Hesson said Kohli has been on the same page as him and head coach Simon Katich. “There has been no question mark about Virat’s captaincy during the last two weeks (of discussions),” Hesson clarified. “… we’ve been very much aligned, and he’s more than happy to get our advice from our experience,” added the former New Zealand coach.

RCB’s questionable recruitment has received much criticism, but Hesson said they are looking for specific players and not hundreds of options this time.

“There will be a great focus on recruitment. Once the auction is complete, work begins, not a week before the tournament starts. We would have clarity in the roles that players must play,” he said.

On recruiting national players, Hesson said some specific players would look at and not just featured stats during the Mushtaq Ali trophy or Vijay Hazare.

“During the Vijay Hazare and Mushtaq Ali Trophy, we’d like to see the players we want to fit in. It’s more about figuring out how players build context around performance, conditions and pressure situations,” added Hesson, who lost the race to Ravi Shastri in India The boss coach’s job.

Read More: Aliya Riaz fined, Najiha warned during Women Cricket Championship