Tim Southee to Lead New Zealand in T20s

Tim Southee to Lead New Zealand in T20s

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson and main player Trent Boult have been rested for the T20 phase Sri Lanka Vs New Zealand. In Williamson’s absence, Tim Southee will lead a team that will include Tim Seifert, as well as three Mitchell Santner, Todd Astle and Ish Sodhi.

“Kane and Trent have played a huge role in our recent World Cup campaign and with a great summer ahead. We see this as a good opportunity to give them a break,” said coach Gavin Larsen.

Seifert, the wicket-keeper, who injured his finger during the four days of the Plunket Shield and later missed the World Cup, returned to the side, as did Tom Bruce. The Central Districts batsman was not part of the New Zealand team in his last T20I series against India. But he was particularly impressive in the Super Smash T20 competition, scoring 353 points in 11 rounds at an average of 40 and more strike rate of 157.58.

Doug Bracewell, a versatile Seam Bowling player who was included in the T20I team against India earlier this year. Seth Rance has been selected as a replacement. Scott Kuggeleijn and versatile player Daryl Mitchell, son of former All Black John Mitchell. They have both retained their place in the squad as New Zealand look to identify their pair for the T20 World Cup this year Next.

“After this incredible race in the ODI World Cup, it’s exciting to start aiming for another world event,” Larsen said. “The series in Sri Lanka will be difficult against a hard-to-beat team in their match. conditions. “Our T20 team has been pretty consistent over the last couple of years. And we are very satisfied with the power and versatility we have in this group”.

Squad: Tim Southee (Captain), Todd Astle, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhome, Lockie Ferguson. Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Colin Munro, Seth Rance. Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (Wicket Keeper), Ish Sodhi, Ross Taylor.