The Undefeated Champion Trinbago Knight Riders CPL 2020

The Undefeated Champion Trinbago Knight Riders CPL 2020

Trinbago Knight Riders TKR clinched the title for the fourth time in the Caribbean Premier League CPL 2020 final, beating St. Lucia Jukes by 7 wickets. In the history of CPL, the undefeated champion Trinbago Knights Riders TKR has won 12 of the 12 matches of the tournament including the CPL 2020 final.

After losing the toss, Andre Fletcher (39), Mark Deyal (29), Najibullah Zadran (24), and Roston Chase (22) put on 154 runs for the loss of all wickets in 19.1 overs. Simmons’ unbeaten 64 and Darren Bravo’s unbeaten 56 helped Trinbago to a 155-run victory.

St. Lucia Jukes did not start well after losing the toss and opting to bat. Rakim Carnival returned to the dressing room with only 6 runs during the team’s 10 runs. After the departure of Carnival, however, the batsmen continued to build resistance with the bat. Fletcher-Deyal’s 6-run partnership was broken when Mark Deyal left with 29 runs off 26 balls. Fletcher returned to the dressing room after scoring 39 off 26 balls without taking leave.

After Fletcher’s departure, Najibullah tried to form a partnership with Zadran, but Pollard did not allow it to happen. Pollard broke the tie by returning 22 runs to Roston Chase. After Chase’s departure, the rest of the batsmen were in the procession. When Najibullah made 24 runs, in the end, St. Lucia Jukes was all out for 154 runs with 5 balls left. Captain Kieron Pollard took 4 wickets for TKR. Fawad and Ali Khan took 2 wickets each.

The Trinbago Knight Riders could not get off to a good start like St. Lucia with a target of 155 for victory. Chase returned Tion Webster, who scored 5 individual runs for 13 runs. After the departure of Webster, Tim Seifert returned to the dressing room with 4 runs. After the departure of the two of them, Lendon Simmons and Darren Bravo formed the resistance of the team.

Not only did they resist, but these two Caribbean stars also left the field after winning the team. Although the match became difficult in the end, they made it easy for the team to win with 23 runs in one over by Zaheer Khan. In the end, Trinbago won the match with 8 wickets and 11 balls in hand. Simmons was unbeaten on 64 for the team and Bravo was unbeaten on 56. Chase and Scott Kugelgin took one wicket each for St. Lucia.

Short Score

St. Lucia Jukes: 154/10 (over 19.1) Fletcher 39, Mark Deal 29, Pollard 4/30
Trinbago Knight Riders: 156/2 (over 16.1) Simmons 64 *, Darren Bravo 57 *, Chase 1 / 13

  • Man of the Match: Lendon Simmons
  • Man of the Tournament: Kieron Pollard