Ten Sri Lankan cricketers decide not touring Pakistan

Ten Sri Lankan Cricket Players decide not touring Pakistan

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) held a meeting on Monday with players, who were chosen as part of a preliminary team to select the team, which will be touring Pakistan to play limited series from September 27 to October 9, 2019.

According to the press release issued by the SLC, the meeting aimed to inform players about the security arrangements, during the next tour and also to know their ‘decision’ (whether they participate or not), before the selectors sit down for the squad selection for the ODI and T20I series.

Former Sri Lankan Air Force Commander Roshan Goonetileke, who is the SLC’s Senior Security Adviser, briefed players on the security situation in Pakistan and the security arrangements that the Pakistan Grillo Board (PCB) plans to implement during the Sri Lanka team’s tour of Sri Lanka. , while the Chairman of the National Panel, Mr. Asantha De Mel, explained that players would be free to decide whether or not to participate in the next tour of Pakistan.

Therefore, ten players have decided not to travel to Pakistan for the next series.

These players included  Suranga Lakmal, Dinesh Chandimal, Dimuth Karunane, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Janith Perera, Dhananjaya De Silva, Thisara Perera, Akila Dhananjaya, Lasith Malinga, and Angelo Mathews.

While medium-order hitter Kusal Mendis is unavailable for selection due to an injury he suffered during the New Zealand series.

On the other hand, top-notch hitter Danushka Gunathilaka said he believed safety would be adequate.

“From what we were told, I think there will be rigorous security,” Gunathilaka said.

After the meeting with the players, the National Selectors selected a T20I and ODI squad to tour Pakistan, which will announce in due course.

Read More: Misbah ul Haq has big advantage over other head coaches, says Tanvir