Tamim Iqbal Fined 15 Percent of the Match for Violating ICC Rules

Tamim Iqbal Fined 15 Percent of the Match for Violating ICC Rules

Tamim Iqbal was punished in the third and final ODI of the series against Sri Lanka. The Bangladesh captain was punished by the International Cricket Council (ICC) for expressing dissatisfaction and reaction to the umpire’s decision. Tamim Iqbal fined 15 percent of the match for violating ICC rules.

Bangladesh was batting for 26 runs to win the second innings of the match. The Lankans quickly picked up two wickets in the top order and put Bangladesh in trouble. Fast bowler Dushmanta Chamira took both the wickets. However, Tamim hinted at fighting the initial failure. But Tamim was caught behind the wicket while driving in the full-length delivery of that Chamira.

Responding to the Lankans’ request, Bangladeshi umpire Sharfuddaula Ibn Saikat ruled against Tamim and dismissed him. Tiger captain quickly took the review. The Ultra Edge shows that the Light Edge is formed when the bat lands on the ground. And the decision of the field umpire is against the batsman.

Tamim had to return to the dressing room with only 16 runs. But Tamim was intensely dissatisfied. He returned to the pavilion with an angry reaction. He also reacted at the end of the match, he is 100% sure it is not out.

And that is why Tamim was punished. No further hearing was required as match referee Niyamur Rashid admitted to Rahul that Akheloyarsulov’s behavior. However, Tamim was fined 15 percent of the match fee for violating Section 2.3 of the Code of Conduct. Added one demerit point.