Sri Lanka Tour of Australia in 2022 After Three Years

Sri Lanka Tour of Australia in 2022 After Three Years

Cricket Australia has released the schedule for the 2021-22 season. They will play a series against Sri Lanka at home in the new season ahead of the T20 World Cup. The Sri Lankan cricket team will tour Australia after a long three years through this series. The two teams will play a five-match T20 series.

The last time Sri Lanka visited Australia was in 2019. Sri Lanka lost the T20 series 3-0 against host Australia. According to the schedule released on Wednesday (May 19), the Sri Lankan team will tour Australia in February 2022 to play five T20s. The series will start on February 11 at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG). The last match of the series will be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

The T20 World Cup will be held in 2022 on Australian soil. Therefore, this series is a big preparation stage for the World Cup for Sri Lanka. Cricket Australia has also announced the schedule of the Test series against Ashes and Afghanistan.


Sri Lanka Tour of Australia 2022 Schedule 

  • 1st T20 – 11 February, Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
  • 2nd T20 – 13 February, Gabba, Perth
  • 3rd T20 – 15th February, Metricon Stadium
  • 4th T20 – 17 February, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
  • 5th T20 – February 20, Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne