Sri Lanka replace Zimbabwe for T20 series in January

Sri Lanka replace Zimbabwe for T20 series in January

On Wednesday, BCCI appointed Sri Lanka replace Zimbabwe for a short three-party T20 International series to be held in January next year. The BCCI has cordoned off the short series in Sri Lanka instead of Zimbabwe, which has been suspended by the ICC.

As previously planned, the first T20 will take place in Guwahati on January 5, followed by matches in Indore on January 7 and Pune on January 10.

“A result of the suspension of Zimbabwe by the ICC, the BCCI invited Sri Lanka to participate in the three-game series. Sri Lanka Cricket has confirmed its participation, ” the BCCI said in a statement.

The series against Zimbabwe is in doubt after the ICC suspends Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) in July this year due to government interference in its administration.

The Board of the ICC decided unanimously that ZC, a full member of the ICC, in violation of article 2.4 (c) and (d) of its constitution, which imposes the obligation on states to provide a process for free and democratic elections.


T20 1st: January 5, Guwahati

2nd T20: January 7, Indore

3rd T20: January 10, Pune


Read More: Kohli Picks His Favorite Footballer Between Messi and Ronaldo