PCB announces international and domestic 2019-20 schedule for women

Pakistan Cricket Board PCB announces the international and domestic 2019-20 schedule for women

As part of its strategic plan to invest in the promotion, development and growth of women’s cricket in the country, Pakistan Cricket Board PCB, announces an international and national 2019-20 schedule with the National Triangular One-day Women Cricket Championship.

The competition of more than 50 teams from three teams will be played at the Lahore Gymkhana Ground from 17 to 26 September. PCB Dynamites, directed by star Nida Dar, will aim to complete a hat-trick of titles.

The winner will pocket PKR500,000, and the finalist team will collect a PKR250,000 cheque.

In addition to this, for the first time, each player will be paid 10,000 PKR as a match fee, while the Kookaburra cricket ball will be used for the event to play in the double league.

Also, six women’s referees, namely Shakila Rafiq, Afia Amin, Humairah Farah, Nazia Nazir, Riffat Mustafa, and Sabahat Rasheed to officiate in the series. This decision further highlights the importance the Pakistan Cricket Board is giving to women’s cricket and provides opportunities for women within the game.

The selection committee, headed by Urooj Mumtaz and also composed of Asmavia Iqbal and Marina Iqbal, will use the National Triangular Women’s Cricket Day Championship, along with recent international performances, as the basis for the selection of the Older women from Pakistan and ‘A’ teams for the next home series against Bangladesh and the October to Sri Lanka tour for the ACC Women’s Emerging Cup.

In addition to these two major international events, the women’s calendar also includes two ICC Women’s Championship matches against India and England. Pakistan currently ranks fifth in the leader-board and has a good chance of qualifying directly for the 2021 ICC Women’s World Cup in New Zealand if they finish in the top five, with New Zealand automatically qualifying as the host country.

The other international assignment, probably the team’s most significant in the 2019-20 season, is the 2020 ICC Women’s World Cup in Australia, which will be played from 21 February to 8 March. In preparation for the T20 World Cup and as part of the preparations event, the women of Pakistan will play three T20Is against the West Indies in Australia.

In addition to the National Triangular Women’s Cricket Day Championship, the other national competitions include the T20 National National National Women’s Cricket Championship, which will be held on January 2020, and a series of three 50 and three T20 matches between Green Pakistan and Yellow Pakistan in April 2020, with the top 30 players.

Pakistan Cricket Board, PCB National Triangular One-Day Women Cricket Championship 2019-20 Schedule Women

PCB announces international and domestic 2019-20 schedule for women

Along with competitive cricket, the PCB has also organized a series of education sessions and game development to not only hone the skills of cricketers but also to attract younger generations of cricketers Female.

Chairwoman of the women’s selection panel and a member of the PCB Cricket Committee, Urooj Mumtaz, said:

A comprehensive cricket-based program has developed for women’s cricket for the upcoming season that focuses on quality tournaments nationwide and a full international calendar. Our motive is to provide more opportunities for young cricketers than ever before to raise the level of our players and help bridge the gap between our national and international cricket.

“We firmly believe that these activities will contribute to the PCB’s efforts to grow the game and increase our current group of players so that we can build quality teams that can perform consistently on the international stage. “.

These are exciting times for women’s cricket in Pakistan, and we hope that more and more young athletes will be attracted to and fall in love with cricket.

Squads for the National Triangular Women’s Cricket Day Championship (selected by the women’s selection committee):

BLASTERS: Noreen Yaqoob, Sidra Amin, Tooba Hasan, Waheeda Akhtar, Rameen Shamim (captain), Aliya Riaz, Almas Akram, Areeb Shamim, Ayesha Zafar, Hafsa Khalid, Kainat Hafeez, Najiha Alvi, Nashra Sandhu, and Umaima Sohail.

CHALLENGES: Natalia Pervaiz, Saba Nazir, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Nawaz, Bismah Maroof (captain), Aroob Shah, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Hafsa Amjad, Hurraina Sajjad, Iram Javed, Javeria Rauf, Khadija Chishti, and Maham Manzoor.

DINAMITAS: Muneeba Ali, Sana Mir, Soha, Subhana Tariq, Nida Dar (captain), Anam Amin, Ayesha Naseem, Ayesha Naz, Nahida Khan, Fareeha Mehmood, Ghulam Fatima, Javeria Khan, Kainat Imtiaz, and Maham Tariq.


Read MoreLHC Seeks Reply from PCB on Misbah Appointment