Newzleand overthrow cricmela

Overthrow Decision and Boundaries Rule Down New Zealand in CWC Final

According to the tiebreaker rule, World Cup winners are decided by the number of boundaries they have scored. England scores more boundaries than New Zealand and hence win the first title.

England had finished with 241-10 and the 241-8 was the target set by New Zealand, then both sides scored 15 each in their six-ball Super Overs.

Kane Williamson admitted it was the most painful way to lose, but refused to condemn tournament organizers such as the International Cricket Council. New Zealand’s sports minister (coach), Grant Robertson, questioned the tiebreaker method.

What an extraordinary game. I’m not sure Super Over is the right ending, he wrote in a tweet. Anyway, New Zealand you can be very, very proud of this team.

Former New Zealand player Scott Styris reportedly called the ruling body a joke about the rules but congratulated both teams on their tremendous efforts.

The reaction of a word from former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming to the result was cruel. Even Gerard Stokes, a former New Zealand rugby league international who brought his son to England as a child while pursuing his career, said the honors were the same.

Crucial overthrow

In addition to the rule of the limits, the decision to overthrow also hampered the Black Caps to become champions by winning the World Cup of Cricket.

According to the experts, the referee should have awarded five runs instead of six when Ben Stokes accidentally deflected Martin Guptill’s throw to the man’s third limit as he tried to run backward for a second run in the last of the 50 England’s opening lineups.

Former chief arbitrator Simon Taufel, on the situation, was quoted as saying; there was an error of trial in the overthrow. The error of judgment was the moment the fielder (Guptill) threw the ball. The act of overthrow begins when the gardener throws the ball. That’s the action.

It becomes an overthrow from the moment of launch. They didn’t cross in their second run, at the moment of the pitch. So, given that scenario, five runs should have been the right run assignment, and Ben Stokes should have been at the end of the non-attacker for the next ball delivery.

The ICC has yet to comment on the matter, while The Cricketer has requested comments from MCC.

The Dharamasena controversy:

On the other hand, some critics criticized Dharmasena’s appointment as referee of the final despite its wrong decision in the semi-finals. Usually, when a referee makes a clear mistake, he doesn’t get a post for the next big game.