India tour to West-indies to Play with New Young Faces

The Indian selectors announced the new faces for the upcoming West Indies tour. After the overwhelmed semi-final of the World Cup 2019, India decided to try the young faces.

India begins a tour of the West Indies on August 3rd that includes 2 Test, 3 International T20s and 3 one-day internationals. Chief Selector M.S.K. Prasad said Virat Kohli is likely to continue to lead in all three formats against the West Indies. After the disappointment of the World Cup, This tour is the beginning of India’s rebuilding process.

Rishabh Pant, an extravagant young wicket-keeper hitter who was also part of the recent Indian World Cup campaign, was named to all three formats for the upcoming tour. The other youngsters are Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, and the uncovered fast-bowling player Navdeep Saini, who is included in the T20 white ball and ODI squads. The leg spinner Rahul Chahar is selected in the squad for the T20.

Prasad dismissed speculation about the future of former captain and batsman Dhoni after his form dropped during the World Cup. “Retirement is purely individual. Legendary cricket as M.S. Dhoni who knows when to retire,” Prasad said. “We don’t need to discuss anything about it, because it’s not available in the first place. Secondly, we have already started preparing some young people.”

Saturday’s reports indicated that Dhoni is not a part of the West Indies tour. Dhoni is likely to spend two months in the army, but he does not plan to steer from the game. There have been calls from some sectors for Dhoni, 38-years-old, to retire. He remains very popular throughout India for leading the team towards the 2011 World Cup triumph.

Indian test team Squad

Virat Kohli (Skipper), Ajinkya Rahane, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, C Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma (Vice Captain), Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, and Javada.

Indian ODI Squad

Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Virat Kohli (Skipper), Rohit Sharma(Vice Captain),  Kedar Jadhav, and Mohammed Shami.