ICC names new umpires for rest of the Ashes Test

ICC names new umpires for 4th and 5th Ashes Test

ICC names new umpires for rest of the Ashes Test

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has finalized the Erasmus Marsh, Ruchira Palliyaguruge and Kumar Dharmasena as umpires responsible for the fourth and fifth matches of the Ashes Test. The final two tests are expected to take place at Old Trafford and The Oval respectively.

Previously, Dharmasena had been appointed television referee for the 4th Test match, but will now accompany Erasmus as the referee on the pitch for the remaining two games. Ruchira Palliyaguruge will make the final decision as to the third referee in both matches. Former Indian fast bowler Javagal Srinath was named referee of the match.

More: Steve Smith Replaces Virat Kohli as Top Ranked Test batsmen Ranking

The first three tests were the scene of several refereeing errors. Referee Joel Wilson had eight wrong decisions while Chris Gaffaney’s seven decisions were overturned at Headingley. Wilson had not given Ben Stokes out on the LBW off Nathan Lyon’s ball, which cost Australia the match and a series win.

Decision Review System (DRS) made it clear that Stokes would have been absent as the ball hit the stumps. The Ashes 2019 test series is currently tied at 1-1, and the two teams will now meet in Manchester for the fourth Test which starts on 4 September.