David Warner Unique Record in IPL History

David Warner Unique Record in IPL History

IPL 2020 is ready to set and break records once again. So far in 12 seasons, there are a number of batsmen who have scored the most runs and captured the Orange Cap. Some of them are Indian batsmen and some are foreign batsmen.

Thus, there are a number of batsmen who have won the Orange Cap in the IPL, but there is also one batsman who has done what no other batsman can do without him. None of the Orange Cap winning batsmen have achieved what Australian star batsman David Warner has achieved a unique record in IPL history so far. David Warner has won the Orange Cap three times so far.

The only batsman to have won three Orange Caps without scoring a wicket: One of the highlights is that Warner has never been dismissed for a wicket in an innings. In other words, Warner, the opening batsman of Sunrisers Hyderabad, did not get out for zero runs and won the Orange Cap not once but three times. It is a record in itself.

David Warner has so far won the Orange Cap in 2015, 2016, and 2019 in the IPL. In these three years, Warner has not been out for zero in any innings. He has scored the most 562 runs in 2015, 741 runs in 2016, and 692 runs in 2019.

Thus, the Orange Cap was dismissed without a run and managed to get three more Australian batsmen. Once in the first season of the IPL, Shaun Marsh, who scored 618 runs in 11 matches without being out for zero runs. Then in 2009, Matthew Hayden scored 562 runs without a single run.

Then Mike Hussey showed such achievement by scoring 633 runs in 2013. If you look at whether any Indian has set such a record, there is only one batsman. India’s great batsman Sachin Tendulkar played for the Mumbai Indians in 2010 and won the Orange Cap with 618 runs in 15 matches.