BBL Removes Boundary Count Rule in Super Over

BBL Removes Boundary Count Rule in Super Over

The ninth season of the Big Bash League 2019-20 will run from December 17, 2019, and ends on February 8, 2020, in which total of Eight teams will play 57 matches. The tournament committee of BBL announced new rules, removes the Boundary count rule that determined the winner of the final phase of the 2019 ICC World Cup. Instead, the organizers decided to allow several Super Overs to settle the tie in the final.

Alistair Dobson, who heads BBL, said this step was taken to make cricket fans happy. “The Super Over was a topic of global discussion after the final of the ICC Cricket World Cup,” said Dobson.

Read More: Vinod Rai opened up the Government Policy about IND-PAK Matches.

“The WBBL04 semi-final between the Sydney Sixers and the Melbourne Renegades gave us a better understanding of the feelings of the teams and supporters towards Super Overs,” Dobson said.

“We hope that allowing several Super Overs in the WBBL and BBL finals will offer our teams and fans the best possible experience. We look forward to another competitive season for both leagues and believe we have a strong system in place if a playoff game was to be feared, ” he added.

After the World Cup, there was a lot of debate over the hidden “countdown” clause. A few months ago, the director-general of CCI announced that the cricket committee would consider the issue at its meeting early next year. This could result in a rule change for the T20 World Cup ICC in October 2020.