Alex Carey disappointed to lose co-captaincy

Alex Carey disappointed to lose co-captaincy

Cricket Australia (CA) has announced a 21-member squad for the tour of England on 14 August. Alex Carey will be the only wicketkeeper-batsman in the team. Alex Carey has co-captained Australian limited-overs cricket with pacer Pat Cummins since 2016. But he will not be the co-captain in the three-match ODI and T20 series against England. Alex Carey disappointed to lose co-captaincy.

In 2016, Australian cricket was rocked by a ball-tampering scandal on South African soil. Justin Langer took over as Australia’s head coach at the time. He changed the rules of the team with responsibility. In consultation with the selectors, Langer appointed two assistants to captain Aaron Finch in limited-overs cricket. That is, team co-captains Carey and Cummins.

But this time England tour, Langer and the selectors went back to the old rules. Although Cummins has been named co-captain, Carey has been relieved of his duties. Carey, 26, is frustrated with losing the co-captaincy. Before leaving the country for the England tour,

Carey said: ‘Anyone who loses the co-captaincy will be disappointed. I am no exception. However, I am really grateful for the opportunity to be in the role of vice-captain for the last 24 months. Hopefully, I will be able to overcome the frustration and try to give the best for the team with a smile.

Carey is happy that the team is back to the old model. He is also happy with those in charge of the team, ‘We are going back to the old model. Aaron Finch is a great captain. His captaincy at the World Cup was great. Cummins is great too. I have a clear decision in team management and I am comfortable with such a decision.

According to the schedule, the three-match T20 series between the two teams will start on September 4 and the ODI series will start on September 11. The three-match ODI series is part of the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League.

The Australian cricket team will play three T20s and one ODI in preparation for the start of the series in England. Meanwhile, both the series will be held in a spectator-free stadium due to coronavirus.