Afghanistan Record for Most Consecutive Wins in T20

Afghanistan sets a new record for most consecutive wins in T20

Afghanistan recorded its name in the record books for most consecutive wins in T20 with a 25-run victory over Bangladesh in the three-nation T20 series at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka on Sunday.

Batting first, the team led by Rashid Khan scored 164 on the back of Mohammad Nabi’s undefeated 54-ball, 84-stroke hard-hitting innings, including three fours and seven sixes. Mujeeb Ur Rahman’s four-wicket while awarding only 15 runs in four overs restrict Bangladesh to chase the target.


Most Consecutive Wins in T20 International

Afghanistan won 12 consecutive T20 international wins, breaking their previous record of 11 successive wins in the shortest format in the game.

Afghanistan’s record winning streak began on February 5 last year when they beat Zimbabwe by five lands in Sharjah. After that, the Afghan side defeated Zimbabwe a day later by 17-runs.

Three months later, in June 2018, they sealed a series 3-0 victory over Bangladesh in Dehradun, beating them by 45 runs, six wickets, and one run respectively to complete five T20I victories in a row. In August last year, Afghanistan won the t20I two-match series against Ireland in Bready.

Afghanistan resumed its winning streak in February 2019 with a 3-0 sweep over Ireland in Dehradun to take their toll to 10 successive T20I victories. While their 11th consecutive T20I victory, equalling their previous record, came after the defeat of Zimbabwe by 28-runs in Dhaka, they surpassed their last milestone and completed their twelfth consecutive T20I victory with a 25-runs win against Bangladesh on Sunday.

Afghanistan now ranks in the top two on the list of more than 20 consecutive international victories. Pakistan is in third place with nine consecutive wins. While England is in fourth place with eight consecutive victories, England’s streak of 8 remained the best for nearly six years, before Afghanistan beat it with 11.



Read More: Major ICC Cricket Rules and Regulations

Cricmela Google News

Follow Us on Google News To Get Latest Cricket Updates